The Archbishop Anthony Mayala School of Nursing was founded in 2009/2010. Its name aroused in honor of the late Archbishop of Mwanza. The School pioneered in launching a Bachelor of Science in Nursing Education program in the academic year 2010/2011 and successfully admitted 35 students.This provided opportunities for ex-form six leavers in a programme that takes four years, Post-Basic Nursing students in a three year programme, and Post-Basic Nursing students who have an Advanced Diploma in Nursing Education. By then, the school established two academic programs; Bachelor of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Paediatric Nursing in 2013 and 2016 respectively. The school devoted to produce competent graduates in nursing education who will have: Sound knowledge of nursing education and health science adapted to suit local needs;Real commitment to the health needs of people and role models;Create a pool of nurses endowed with a quality scientific base necessary to enable them to be innovative and to handle nursing problems in Tanzania; able to rehabilitate the sick; to prevent or minimize the adverse sequel of disease and to promote health. The School mourns dearly the Founding Dean of the School Prof Helen IgobekoLugina; who passed away suddenly in 2012.May her soul rest in eternal peace.